News & Announcements Home
The original item was published from 4/23/2015 12:17:21 PM to 6/4/2015 12:05:00 AM.

News & Announcements

Home Page

Posted on: April 23, 2015

[ARCHIVED] Enthusiastic crowd greets new Ferguson City Council members

Ferguson, MO – With the swearing in of three newly elected City Council members Tuesday night, the City of Ferguson opened the door to an era full of hope and promise.

Before an overflowing and enthusiastic crowd at City Hall, Ella Jones (Ward 1), Brian Fletcher (Ward 2) and Wesley Bell (Ward 3) officially took their seats in the council chambers and cemented their place in Ferguson history. With Jones and Bell joining Councilman Dwayne T. James, Ferguson, now has three African-Americans serving on the City Council.

The three council members were elected on April 7, a day that saw 30 percent of Ferguson’s registered voters go to the polls, more than double the normal turnout.

“I recognize the enormity of the task before us, and I know that we can’t take our eyes off of the prize,” Bell said. “There are some important issues that we need to address, and we have the opportunity to set a broad example for the world.”

“First, I would like to thank our departing council members: Kim Tihen, Tim Larson and David Conway for their commitment and service to the City of Ferguson,” said Mayor James Knowles III. “I am also looking forward to working with our newest Council members. We will work together as we strive to make Ferguson a great community for everyone,” Knowles added.

Also, last night Council members selected a new Mayor Pro-Tem and decided on which committee they would serve on for the City.

* Councilman Mark Byrne was elected the Mayor Pro-Tem,
* Board of Adjustment (Keith Kallstrom),
* Building Board of Appeals (Keith Kallstrom).
* Ferguson Neighborhood Improvement Program (Mark Byrne),
* Ferguson Special Business District (Brian Fletcher),
* Ferguson Youth Initiative Advisory Board (Dwayne James),
* Housing Board of Appeals (James, Human Rights Commission (Dwayne James, Ella Jones),
* Landmarks Commission (James), Library Board (Dwayne James),
* Parks Board (Fletcher), Pension Board (Brian Fletcher),
* Personnel Board (Bell), Plan Commission (Keith Kallstrom),
* Senior Citizen Commission (Ella Jones),
* Traffic Commission (Ella Jones),
* West Florissant Business Association (Wesley Bell)

Residents of Ferguson can meet the new City Council members on Saturday, 10 a.m.-noon, at the Ferguson Community Center, located at 1050 Smith Ave. There will be a special meet and greet for the community.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home Page

Did You Know

Trash Service Updates

Posted on: November 14, 2023