Election Requirements

The City Council consists of six Council members and a Mayor. Two Council members are elected from each of the three wards, for three-year overlapping terms. The Mayor is elected at large and also serves a three-year term.  


  • All Council Members and Mayor shall be qualified voters of the City;
  • Council Members must reside in their respective wards; 
  • No person shall qualify as a candidate for Mayor or Council Member who has been convicted of or found guilty of or pled guilty to a felony under the laws of the State of Missouri or of the United States;
  • Neither any Council Member or Mayor may serve more than three (3) consecutive three-year terms (exceptions apply).

Candidates for City Council (Mayor and Council Member) must also:

  • File a nominating petition comprised of not less than fifty (50) and not more than seventy-five (75) registered voters; 
  • Declare under penalties of perjury that they are not delinquent in the filing of any state income taxes, personal property taxes, municipal taxes, real property taxes, or are not a past or present corporate officer of any fee office that owes any taxes to the State;
  • Pay a $10 filing fee for declaration of office.